Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
Like us...Dooley Park       
Like us...Haunted House  
Like us...Downs Events    
  Search Site

Village Board of Trustees

The Downs Village Board of Trustees is a six-member board, with each member elected to a 4-year term. Three seats are up for election every 2 years. The Village Board is the legislative body of the village government and provides direction on ordinances and the expenditure of village funds, among other duties.

Maureen Roach

Maureen Roach has lived in the Downs' community since 1993. She holds both Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Education from Illinois State University. 

Maureen was first elected as a trustee in 2005. She serves as Public Safety trustee and Village President Pro-Tem.

Stephanie Adkisson

Stephanie has lived in Downs since 2017 where she co-owns Adkisson Construction with her husband Brandon. She enjoys volunteering on the events committee and has been the Coordinator of The Village of Downs 4th of July Celebration since 2019. Between being raised in Heyworth and visiting Downs on weekends and holidays, she is passionate about volunteering and small town living.

Stephanie was elected to serve as Parks Trustee in 2023 for a four year term.

Sarah (Layten) Gassaway

Sarah (Layten) Gassaway born and raised in the village of Downs has long standing roots in the community. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from SIUE in 2004. She returned to Downs to raise her twins and is a partner in her family business Kickapoo Drilling Company.  Being raised in scouting, serving her community is a part of who she is. Her favorite holiday growing up in Downs was always 4th of July.

Sarah Gassaway was appointed to the Village Board as Trustee in 2016 and elected in 2017 to a 4-yr term as the Finance and Services Trustee.  She was appointed in 2021 with the term to expire in 2023. Sarah currently serves as the Building Trustee.

Toby Twyford

Toby Twyford was appointed to the Village Board as Trustee in 2017 and elected in 2019 to a 4-yr term.  Toby currently serves as the Public Works Trustee.

Anna Milliken

Anna is a graduate of Tri-Valley High School and holds a bachelor’s degree from Illinois State University. Anna enjoys serving her community and being active in local affairs.

Anna Milliken was appointed in 2021 to complete the term vacated by Erik Bryant to expire April 30, 2021, and then again in 2021 to serve until 2023. She currently serves as the Finance and Services Trustee.

Brian Warfel

Brian Warfel was appointed in 2021 with the term to expire in 2023.  He currently serves as the Streets Trustee.